ArticlesMembers of ParliamentnewsparliamentZanu PF

G40 MPs expelled from Parliament

 By Daniel Chigundu
Zanu PF has expelled about 10 legislators allegedly aligned to the G40 faction from Parliament with effect from 10 January 2018.
The legislators who had already been fired from the party during the Special Congress held in December last year had continued coming to Parliament because Zanu PF had not notified the Speaker of their expulsion as required by Section 129 (1) (k) of the country’s constitution.
Reading the announcement in the National Assembly, Deputy Speaker of Mabel Chinomona said she has been informed that the 10 legislators are no longer members of Zanu PF and no longer serving its interest.
“I would like to notify this august House that today, 18th January 2018, Parliament has been notified by the Zanu PF that the following Members have ceased to be members of Zanu PF party and therefore no longer represent the interests of the party in Parliament with effect from 10th January, 2018:
“Hon. Makhosini Hlongwane, Mberengwa East Constituency; Hon. Anastancia Ndhlovu, Proportional representation; Hon. Tapiwanashe Matangaidze, Shurugwi South Constituency; Hon. Shadreck Mashayamombe, Harare South Constituency; Hon. Wonder Mashange, Rushinga Constituency; Hon. Dr. Daniel Shumba, Masvingo Urban Constituency; Hon. Walter Mzembi, Masvingo South Constituency; Hon. Jappy Jaboon, Bikita South Constituency; Hon. Dr. Paul Chimedza, Gutu South Constituency; Hon. Sarah Mahoka, Hurungwe East Constituency; Hon. Samuel Undenge, Chimanimani East Constituency.
“Section 129 (1) (k) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe provides as follows; that a seat of a Member of Parliament becomes vacant if the Member has ceased to belong to the political party of which he or she was a Member when elected to Parliament and the political party concerned by written notice to the Speaker or to the President of the Senate as the case may be, had declared that the Member has ceased to belong to it,” she said.
The Deputy Speaker added that …”pursuant to the above, I do hereby inform this august House that vacancies have arisen in the constituencies stated above by the operation of the law.
“The necessary administrative measures will be taken to inform His Excellency the President of the Republic of Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) of the existence of the vacancies in line with Section 39 (1) of the Electoral Act [Chapter 213] as amended,” she said.
Of the expelled legislators only Honourable Sarah Mahoka was in the House when the announcement was read and she quickly went out after learning of her fate.
Norton Legislator Temba Mliswa had complained to Parliament that legislators who had been fired by Zanu PF had continued to attend Parliament, against the constitutional requirements.
Finance and Economic Development Minister Patrick Chinamasa said the expulsion of the G40 legislators will go a long way in reducing government expenditure and that the money will be channelled to other needy areas.
G40 was faction in Zanu which was believed to be fronted by former first lady Grace Mugabe and was fighting against Lacoste fronted by President Emmerson Mnangagwa in a bid to succeed former President Robert Mugabe.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *