NERA meet ZEC to discuss polling stations mapping process

By Nkanyiso Ncube
The National Electoral Reform Agenda (NERA) and the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) are set to obtain the digital itinerary for Phase 2 of the Polling station Mapping Process.
Mapping out polling stations is the process of ensuring legitimate polling station locations are verified and utilized for 2018 elections. This Process has been broken into three Phases. We are now entering Phase 2.
In a statement NERA said phase 2 involves mapping out and verifying locations where polling stations will placed.
“The polling station mapping is said to be used on verifying locations where polling stations will be placed. In past elections there have been issues of Bogus Polling Stations in unknown or none existent areas which therefore resulted in bogus votes,” read part of the statement.
NERA said the process of receiving the itinerary was difficult and complicated.
NERA added that it was looking forward to ZEC to cooperate by providing resources for all stakeholders who would participate in the mapping out and the verification process.
“NERA takes the verification process very seriously and will raise issues with ZEC and inform the public about any illegitimate polling locations”.
The mapping exercise will involve drawing boundaries and descriptions of the polling station catchment areas guided by the principle that each polling station should handle not more than 1 500 voters on polling day. The advantages of polling station voter registration and voting system are it:
•    speeds up voting process
•    eliminates long queues
•    curtails potential multiple voting
•    minimises challenges relating to printing of ballot paper and voter’s rolls and their distribution
List of Political Parties in Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe African National Union – Patriotic Front President Robert Mugabe
Movement for Democratic Change – Tsvangirai Morgan Tsvangirai
Movement for Democratic Change – Ncube Prof. Welshman Ncube
Zimbabwe African People’s Union (ZAPU) Dr Dumiso Dabengwa
Mavambo/Dawn/Kusile Simba Makoni
Zimbabwe National African Union-NDONGA (ZANU-NDONGA) Reketai Semwayo
Freedom Party Cosmas Mponda
United Parties Abel muzorewa
Zimbabwe Development Party Kisnot Mukwazhi
Viva Zimbabwe Acie Lumumba
Transform Zimbabwe Jacob Ngarivhume
National Alliance for Good Governance Shakespear Maya
Zimbabwe People’s First Dr Joice Mujuru
People’s Democratic Party Tendai Biti
Build Zimbabwe Alliance (BZA) Noah Manyika
United People’s Party Dr. Daniel Shumba
Democratic Assembly for Restoration and Empowerment Gilbert Dzikiti
Renewal Democrats of Zimbabwe Elton Mangoma
United Democratic Front
Zimbabwe People’s Democratic Party
Isabel Shanangurai Madangure

This is the list of Political Parties in Zimbabwe hoping to unseat the revolutionary party, ZANU PF and apparently the list will be bigger on the next election in 2018.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *