#Ivote4PeaceZW2018 ElectionselectionsEmpowermentHarareICTLocal GovernmentMembers of ParliamentmpnewsOpinionparliamentUncategorized

Prospective Parliamentarians suggested on Social Media

By Tariro Senderayi
The just ended independence celebrations have been met with mixed feelings. While 37 years of freedom is a genuine milestone to celebrate as a nation, some countrymen couldn’t help but feel the sacrifice leading to Zimbabwe’s independence from White minority rule in 1980 has gone in vain.
Independence in 1980 meant education for all, equal opportunities, low cost of living, one man one vote along with other aspects that came with Zimbabwe’s young democracy. Fast forward to date the majority of the war veterans have been at loggerheads with the ruling revolutionary party, Zanu Pf citing that the leadership has forsaken the masses they set out to free in the liberation struggle.
In a quest for positive change in Zimbabwe, various citizens have taken to social media registering their frustration towards the state of the nation. Some of these instances have sparked debate from fellow citizens. The latest is South African-based Zimbabwean Editor, Savious Kwinika who recently posted a list of his ideal Parliamentarians he would prefer in a perfect world or in a new regime.
In his introduction of the list he wrote, “I have removed stupid positions governors for Bulawayo and Harare replacing them with just eight provincial governors. Zimbabwe is too small to have ten provinces. Bear in mind, you are free to always vote your new government, but this is mine.”
The list is as follows
President: Strive Masiyiwa (Econet Chairman)
Deputy President :Pfungwa Serima (Formerly SAP)
Mini in Presidency: Sifiso Dabengwa(Formerly MTN Group CEO
Foreign Affairs : Nkosana Moyo
Finance and Economic Development: Ralph Mupita (MTN Group CEO)
Defence and Military veterans: Sox Chikohwero
State Security: Shingai Mutasa
Home Affairs: Mxolisi Ncube
Justice: Advocate Gabriel Shumba
Tourism: Walter Mzembi
Public Services and administration: Supa Mandiwanzira
Information: Pikirayi Deketeke
ICT: Douglas Mboweni
Trade and Industry: Prof Arthur Mutambara
Parastatal and state enterprises: Billy Rautenbach
Mines and mineral resources: Ben Magara CEO for Lonmin Mines
Agriculture: Neville Sealy
Education and Tertiary: Prof Tawana Khupe (Witz University)
Energy: Dr James Makamba
Health: Dr Bothwell Mbuwayesango
Rural Development: Mutumwa Mawere
Transport and energy: Trust Matsilele
Social Development: Busisa Moyo
Arts and culture: Tinashe Muromo
Labour: Shingi Munyeza
Small Businesses: Eve Christine Gadzikwa
Sports: Kirsty Coventry
Ironically Kwinika’s list was met with mixed feelings too as he says he received overwhelming emails, SMS and phone calls pressuring him to take down the list.
Eventually, he pulled down the list and later lashed out at people who had pressured him saying, “People did not sleep! Even leaders of opposition political parties in Harare and Bulawayo were phoning their representatives in South Africa inquiring whether the proposed leaders were indeed interested”
He added, “Shame on you all who phoned emailed and SMS’d me. Imagine making a wish list for Zimbabwe Warriors so squad would one require permission to suggest names of sharp shooting strikers, tough-tackling defenders and their neat ball distribution midfielders? ”
Looking at the list one can only wonder why the youth and women are not fully represented. Some of the individuals suggested have a questionable past. Despite all this, such conversations are critical in sparking debate on who should hold the levers of power.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when new articles are published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.